NBR to Honor Top Tax and VAT Payers for FY 2019-20

NBR to Honor Top Tax and VAT Payers for FY 2019-20

The National Board of Revenue (NBR) will honor a total of 252 tax payers for paying the highest amount of income tax and value added tax (VAT).

From the 252 award winners, 9 firms have been named as the highest VAT payers on the national level. Another 102 businesses are also going to be honoured with top VAT payers award at the district level. The rest 141 award winners have been selected as the highest taxpayers in different sectors, of which 75 are individual taxpayers.

The NBR is planning to honour them at a ceremony on December 10, 2021. This will be the 16th year the NBR is going to honour them for the tax & vat payers contribution in domestic economic activities.

From the 6 million registered taxpayers of Bangladesh, Kaus mia lead the top tax payer list for the second running year. He is a well-known businessman from Old Dhaka, who has been paying tax since 1958. For his astonishing contribution, NBR has crowned him with 15 awards over the years with the recognition of the best taxpayer of Mujib Borsho.

The national level top VAT payers are divided into three categories. Aristopharma, Square Toiletries, and Maya Biri Factory have been identified as the top VAT payers from the Manufacturing sector. SM Motors, AMCO Bajaj International, and MABS Union Motors are the top VAT payers in the trading sector and Edotco Bangladesh, Grey Advertising (Bangladesh), and Robert Bosch (Bangladesh) are announced top VAT payers in the service sector.

The top tax payers from different categories are –

  • Banking category

BRAC Bank Ltd., Dutch Bangla Bank Ltd, Islami Bank Bangladesh Ltd., Standard Chartered Bank, The Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation

  • Non-Banking Financial Institutions category

Bangladesh Infrastructure Finance Fund Limited, Delta BRAC Housing Finance Corporation Limited, Infrastructure Development Company Limited, and Investment Corporation of Bangladesh

  • Food and Beverage

Nestle Bangladesh Ltd., Olympic Industries Ltd., and Pran Dairy Ltd.

  • Engineering

Uttara Motors Limited, Bangladesh Machine Tools Factory Ltd., and Uttara Automobiles Ltd.

  • Energy

Titas Gas (T&D) Company Ltd., Gas Transmission Co Ltd., and Petromax Refinery Ltd.

  • Jute industry

Akij Jute Mills Ltd., Aiyan Jute Mills Ltd., and I R Khan Jute Mills Ltd.

  • Leather industry

Apex Footwear Ltd., Bata Shoe Company (Bangladesh) Ltd., and Lalmai Footwear Ltd.

  • Readymade Garment companies

Universal Jeans Limited, Youngone Hi-Tech Sportswear Inds Ltd., Zaber and Zubair Fabrics Ltd., Rifat Garments Ltd., Square Fashion Ltd., GMS Composite Knitting Ind Ltd., and Ha-meem Denim Ltd.

  • Spinning and Textile

Coats Bangladesh Ltd., Badsha Textile Mills Ltd., Noman Terry Towel Mills Ltd., Nahid Composite Textile Mills Ltd., Ismail Anjuman Ara Fabric Ltd., Premiere 1888 Ltd., and Nahid Cotton Ltd.

  • Telecommunication

Grameenphone Limited

  • Other category

British American Tobacco Bangladesh Ltd., American Life Insurance Co Ltd., Sadharan Bima Corporation, and Power Grid Company of Bangladesh Ltd.

  • Journalist

Faridur Reza, Abdul Mukit Majumder, Mahfuz Anam, Mohammad Abdul Malek, and Matiur Rahman

  • Senior citizens

Golam Dastogir Gazi, Khawaza Tazmahal, Engr Khandaker Badrul Hassan, Dr Mostafizur Rahman, and Latifur Rahman

  • Business

Hazi Kaus Mia, Md Nazrul Islam Majumder, Nafis Shikder, Md Sawkat Ali Chowdhuiry, and Anwar Hossain

  • Women

Anwara Hossain, Shahnaz Rahman, Selina Mahbub, Farhana Monem, and Morsheda Nasmin

  • Young (below 40 years)

Ahmed Imtiaz Hassan, SM Monjurul Alam Ovi, Md Faisal Hossain, Md Lutfor Rahman, and Anika Tarannum Anam

  • Gazetted injured freedom fighters

Md Nasir Uddin Mridha, Md Joynal Abedin, Md Kohinoor Islam Khan, and SM Abdul Wahab

  • Physically challenged

Akram Mahmud, Dr Md Mamunur Rashid, and Lubna Nigar

  • Salaried persons

Mohammad Yousuf, Hosne Ara Hossain, Rubayat Farzana Hossain, Laila Hossain, and MA Haider Hossain

  • Firm

Messrs SN Corporation, Messrs Md Jamil Iqbal, Messrs SSBS, and Messrs Saleh Ahmmad

  • Local authority

Bangladesh Rural Electrification Board, and Bangladesh Bridges Authority

  • Association of person

ASA, and Sena Kalyan Sangstha Head Office

  • Other category:

Bureau Bangladesh, Rafiq Construction Co (Pvt) Ltd., RAK Power Private Ltd., and Centre for Development Innovation and Practices

  • Actor/actress

Suborna Mustafa, Bidya Sinha Saha, and Babul Ahmed

  • Singer

Tahsan Rahman Khan, SD Rubel, and Kumar Bishwajit

  • Doctor

Dr Jahangir Kabir, Professor Dr AKM Fazlul Haque, Professor Dr Pran Gopal Dutta, Dr NAM Momenuzzaman, and Dr Nargis Fatema

  • Lawyer

Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh, Kazi Mohammad Tanjib-ul Alam, Ahsanul Karim, Nihad Kabir, and Tawfika Aftab

  • Engineers

Mohammad Abdullah, Mohammad Mokhlesur Rahman, and Mohammad Jahirul Islam

  • Architect

Mohammad Fayez Ullah, Mohammad Rafique Azam, and Enamul Karim Nirjhor

  • Accountant

Mohammad Faruk, Mashuk Ahmed, and Mohammad Mustak Ahmed

  • Player

Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal Khan, and Soumya Sarkar

  • New taxpayer

Mst Shahin Akter, Mizanul Karim, Rokshana Parveen, Mohammad Salah Uddin, Rasheda Akter Chowdhury, Badhan Banik, and Mohammad Riad Ur Rahman

  • Other

Mahmudul Haque, Khandakar Monir Uddin, and Saiful Islam

Leave a Comment